It’s a human-thing

It happened a couple of days ago. A quiet sober evening when I went to the church. It was surprisingly, the first time I reached well before the mass began.
I sat on one of the pews , empty minded and already feeling exhausted and lethargic after the day’s activities.
There wasn’t anybody sitting next to me because I had chosen one of the most solitary places .
I grabbed a hymn book and was inexplicably engrossed amidst the various hymns.
When I was already mesmerized and lost in my thoughts, a lady not more than 30 scurried across and occupied the seat next to me. She was carrying a child in her frail arms and an unfathomable expression on her face.
I was mystified by the way she carried a child which was apparently 6 or 7 years old . Why would any mother do such a thing?A six year old child can no doubt walk on its own.

I smirked to myself thinking how parents spoil their children by excessively pampering and making them mentally vulnerable in today’s defying world.
It was then I noticed the child’s bizarre gestures.
Then it struck me like a bolt of lightening.
The child was autistic and handicapped.

image

I was moved with compassion and felt mortified over my ruthless mistaken assumptions.
The child looked at me and beamed in a gullible manner,    clearly unaware of my wrong perceptions.
I smiled too,sadly.
I was silently overwhelmed and pain-stricken.

image

Just then,the celebrant moved towards the altar and I was whisked out of my deep contemplation.
The mass was about to begin.

Leave a Reply

© Varina Berryl Rasquinha, 7verina.wordpress.com, 2015.
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Varina Berryl Rasquinha and 7verina.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

